October 8 A Different Way To Live

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

Jeremiah 10:1-11:23;  Colossians 3:18-4:18;  Psalm 78:56-72;  Proverbs 24:28-29

“Wives submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.  Husbands love your wives, and do not be harsh with them.  Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord.  Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.”

~

“Slaves (employees, my emphasis), obey your earthly masters (employers,) in everything, and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord.”

~

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive and inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”  Colossians 3:18-24

Christ living in me by faith

puts forth the best, the right,

the holy response as

a wife,

mother,

daughter,

volunteer.

He empowers me

to be what I’m not inclined to be:

respectful, submissive,

fair, loving,

putting others’ needs

before my own.

He helps me live a different life

apart from my own.

Today, O Lord, may I be mindful that in all I do, I am serving You.  You are my Lord and Master–there is no other!  Your love and mercy beckons me to do my best.  Your grace will encompass my failings and my human tendency to serve myself.  Thank you Lord for ultimately serving me by paying the penalty for my sins on the cross.  Thank you for your Servant example for me to follow.  Grant that I may do so today, by the power of the Holy Spirit dwelling within me.  In Your name I pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

