November 20 Check Your Plans

Photo by Aaron Burden

Photo by Aaron Burden

Ezekiel 40:28-41:26;  James 4:1-17;  Psalm 118:19-29;  Proverbs 28:35

“Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”–yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring.  What is your life?  For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.  Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”  James 4:13-15

DayTimers and other planning tools are invaluable aids for staying on track in the workplace, but when the subtle implication that they would make all of life easier and more fulfilling to the exclusion of looking to and submitting to God’s plans–well, there’s the rub.

Productivity apps, Daytimers, Calendars, whatever…used without seeking the Lord’s direction and blessing…tattle on our self-centered, self-serving natures.

Thankfully, God’s grace can get us back on track with Him.

“If we confess our sins, God who is faithful and just, will forgive our sins, and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  1 John 1:9.

Including our sin of excluding Him in our life-mapping, goal identifying, activity planning efforts!

Lord God, forgive me for hitting the floor “running” day after day, checking my lists, checking off ‘to-dos’ with little thought to what You would have me do.  Forgive my failure to seek You, listen to You, to ask for wisdom to discern worldly goals from Your goals for me.  Thank You, that through Christ’s sacrifice on the Cross,  You have freed me from the tyranny of serving self to live a different way–Your way.

Take my life, O Lord, renew,

Consecrate my heart to you;

Take my moments and my days;

Let them sing your ceaseless praise.

~

Make my will your holy shrine,

It shall be no longer mine.

Take my heart, it is your own;

It shall be your royal throne.

~

Take my love, my Lord, I pour

At your feet its treasure store;

Take my self, Lord, let me be

Yours alone eternally.

Amen.

~  Francis Haveral

Leave a Reply

