December 1 Who Do You Love?

Image by Samuel Kaylor

Image by Samuel Kaylor

Daniel 8:1-27;  1 John 2:1-17;  Psalm 120:1-7;  Proverbs 28:25-26

“My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin.  But if anyone does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense–Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.  He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the world.

“Do not love the world or anything in the world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For every thing in the world–the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does–comes not from the Father, but from the world.  The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.”  1 John 2:1-6, 15-17

Who do you love?

What do you love?

What do you love to do?

Who or what occupies the throne seat of your heart?

I’m afraid I occupy the place where Jesus should be most of the time.

Selfish gain, desire for “security”,the lust of my eyes pushes aside faith, humble service, and devotion to the One who cares for me, who died on the Cross for my sins and gives me hope for everlasting life.

The Apostle John, the beloved of the Lord, saw the struggles of current Jesus-followers and of those to come and by the Spirit encourages us:  “we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense–Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.”

John also warns us:  “Do not love the world or anything in the world.”

Who do you love?

What do you love?

What do you love to do?

Lord, look into my heart and shine a light on the seat where you belong–who or what sits there?  Turn my eyes to you alone.  Forgive me for loving and worshiping gods of my own making.  You are the only one who saves me, comforts me, wisely guides me in the this world.  During this fever-pitch, media driven, commercial “season” leading up to the “holidays”, help me to keep my focus on the very essence of Christmas–You, Jesus, my Lord and God!  In your name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

