December 4 Lesson On Love

Image by Marian Trinidad

Image by Marian Trinidad

Daniel 11:36-12:13;  1 John 4:1-21;  Psalm 123:1-4;  Proverbs 29:2-4

“We know that we live in him and he in us, because he has given us his spirit.  And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world.  If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in him and he is in God.  And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.

~

“God is love.  Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.  In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgement, because in this world we are like him.  There is no fear in love.  But perfect love casts out all fear, because fear has to do with punishment.  The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

~

“We love because he first loved us.  If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar.  For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.

~

“And he has given us this command:  whoever loves God, must also love his brother.”  1 John 4:13-21

“Love.”

But I can’t.  I can’t lover her…I can’t love him…I can’t love them.

“Why not?”

They’re not like me.  They don’t like me.  I don’t even know them.

“Love.  I loved you when you were the opposite of me.  I am perfect.  Holy.  Just.  All knowing.  All wise.   And I loved you who were anything but…even on your better days.”

“I loved you when you ignored me, scoffed at me, scorned me.  When you swore in my name.”

“I loved you in your self-pity, excuse ridden world.”

“I love you still and always will.”

“Will you love as I have loved you?”

“If you believe in me and love me, I will always be with you.  I can help you with your loving.  It’s not the world’s kind of love that shines only if you are worthy, if you’ve made it, if you made the round of talk shows.”

“I will love you in your corner of the world and will help you love–in your corner of the world.”

“By your love, others will learn of me–that I am love, and that I am all they need.”

“Love.”

O.K.  It’s you and me, Lord.

“I know.  Just love.”

2 thoughts on “December 4 Lesson On Love

  1. Laura, I love your message today. I don’t think we really realize how amazing His love truly is. When I see Him face to face, I’ll be so overwhelmed that He could love lowly me. Amazing Love. I’ve no excuse not to love others.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

Leave a Reply

