December 11 Walking Clothes

Photo by Kevin Carden

Photo by Kevin Carden

Amos 4:1-6:14;  Revelation 2:18-3:6;  Psalm 130:1-8;  Proverbs 29:21-22

“I know your works.  You have the reputation of being alive, but you are dead.  Wake up and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God.  Remember, then, what you received and heard.  Keep it, and repent.  If you will not wake up, I will come like a thief, and your will not know what hour I will come against you.

***

“Yet you still have a few names in Sardis, people who have not soiled their garments and they will walk with me in white, for they are worthy.  The one who conquers will be clothed thus in white garments, and I will never blot his name out of the book of life.  I will confess his name before my Father and before his angels.”

Revelation 3:1-5

Jesus gave a wake up call to the Christians in Sardis.  Their reputation was solid, but it was a charade and Jesus saw right through it.

Wow.  That means He can see right through me too. When I think I’m walking the walk, and talking the talk Jesus says, “Wake up!

I’ve been doing some sleeping lately; my motivation for writing a Christian blog on a daily basis teeters on a “have to” thing rather than a missional “I want to serve Him in this way, this day” thing.

That’s why Jesus’ words in this letter to the Sardis Christians speak hope to me:  Repent!  He sees.  He forgives.  He gives me His set of walking clothes–His righteousness won for me on the Cross are mine to wear, because I believe in Him and what He is able to do through me!

Thank you Lord God, for your letters to me and to all Christians as found in the book of Revelation.  Thank you for caring enough about our spiritual welfare that you write us strong warnings and give us your encouragement to “hang on.” Thank you for the assurance that our names are written in the book of life as we continue to put our faith and trust in You and You alone.  In this season of Advent, may we remember your letters to us and to give you thanks and praise.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

