December 12 Feeling Small?

Image by Domonic Webster

Image by Domonic Webster

Amos 7:1-9:15;  Revelation 3:7-22;  Psalm 131:1-3;  Proverbs 29:23

” I know your works.  Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut.  I know you have little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

Because you have kept my word about patient endurance, I will keep you from the hour of trial that is coming on the whole world, to try those who dwell on the earth.  I am coming soon.  Hold fast what you have, so that no one can seize your crown.

The one who conquers, I will make him a pillar in the temple of my God.  Never shall he go out of it, and I will write on him the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the New Jerusalem, which comes down from my God out of heaven, and my own new name.”

Revelation 3:8,10-12

*****

Feeling small in the kingdom of God?

No big hat to wear?

No podium to shake?

~

Our Lord sees

your small seed

of faith.

It’s roots grow

deep.

~

He sees you standing firm,

saying “yes” to Him

and

“no”

to all else.

~

He sees you serve

a friend in need,

a stranger in the aisle.

~

He’s got just the place

for you,

when Kingdom time arrives.

You’ll stand strong,

and proud,

and tall,

His name emblazoned

on your chest

and a crown

upon

your brow.

Lord God, again you speak to us, just as you spoke to the church in Philadelphia with words of love and encouragement.  Times were tough for them.  They were not seen as a Christian “power house”.  In your eyes, though, their faithful presence was enough.  They believed in you and trusted you–in the face a of great opposition.  Thank you for encouraging them to stand firm, hold onto their crowns and hold on to YOU!  May we be encouraged by the same!  Thank you Lord Jesus! In your name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

