January 17 The Truth Is…

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

Genesis 35:1-36:43;  Matthew 12:1-21;  Psalm 15:1-5;  Psalm 15:1-5

“Lord, who may dwell in your sanctuary?

Who may live on your holy hill?

He whose walk is blameless,

and who does what is righteous,

who speaks the truth from the heart

and has no slander on his tongue,

who does his neighbor no wrong

and casts no slur on his fellowman,

who despises a vile man

but honors those who fear the Lord,

who keeps his oath

even when it hurts,

who lends his money without usery

and does not not accept a bribe against

the innocent.

He who does these things will never be shaken.”

Psalm 15:1-5

God desires to be surrounded by perfect people–His holiness will not tolerate anything less.

Am I perfect?

Am I holy?

Can I get close to God?

The answer is YES!

But not because I am all of those things.  But I believe in Jesus Christ, the Lamb of God who did lead a holy, perfect life.  Because I believe that Jesus paid the price for my ugly unholiness called sin when he died on Calvary’s Cross.  Because now, through faith, He has put upon me his robe of righteousness which the Father sees instead of my ragged, stained rags.

God the Father does see me as perfect and holy because of faith and one day I will stand before Him fully confident that He will let me live on His holy hill!

Lord God, I thank and praise you for the saving work of Jesus on the Cross.  That his sacrifice has won me a place in your presence.  This weekend as I worship, may I glorify you with songs and prayers of praise and receive your good Gifts through Word and Sacrament.  In Jesus’ name, I pray, Amen.

We all believe in one true God, Father Son and Holy Ghost,

Ever present help in need, praised by all the heav’nly host;

All he made his love enfolds, all creation he upholds.

* * * *

We all believe in Jesus Christ, Son of God and Mary’s son,

Who descended from his throne, and for us salvation won;

By whose cross and death are we rescued from all misery.

* * * *

We all confess the Holy Ghost who from both in truth proceeds

Who sustains and comforts us in all trials, fears and needs.

Blest and holy Trinity, praise forever yours shall be.

~ Tobias Clausnitzer

2 thoughts on “January 17 The Truth Is…

Leave a Reply

