January 28 Comfort Straight Up

Photo by Sandara Lee

Photo by Sandara Lee

Exodus 5:22-7:24;  Matthew 18:23-19:12;  Psalm 23:1-6;  Proverbs 5:22-23

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall

not be in want.

He makes me lie down in

green pastures,

he leads me beside quiet waters,

he restores my soul.

He guides me in paths of righteousness

for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk

through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and love will follow

me

all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the

Lord forever.”

Psalm 23

* * * * *

Going for comfort when

my soul is sore

from being tossed about

by the cares of this world

leads me to Jesus

not to the glass that says

“Straight Up”

not to the book

of man’s wisdom,

not to endless activity

that leaves me numb,

just Jesus,

who comes to me

and soothes my spirit

with His truth,

His forgiveness,

His peace.

Lord God, just as David, the Psalm writer, expressed his confidence in the Good Shepherd, so we come to you acknowledging that Jesus is the source of all our comfort.  Please forgive us for the times when we have sought comfort outside the realm of faith.  Thank you for rescuing us from false sources of comfort.  Help us to share the Good News that we have received and believed in with those who need your comfort straight up.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “January 28 Comfort Straight Up

  1. Beautifully described. I loved the line “my soul is sore.” It made me rethink how I feel when sorrow’s ache throbs in me, while contrasting the tenderness of Jesus and His Spirit as they “soothe my spirit”. Beautiful.

    • Thank you Krista. And I’m so thankful that He seeks us out when we’re hurting to apply His healing balm. I don’t sheep are prone to seeking out their shepherds when they’re lost and hurt. He’s sooo good to us!

Leave a Reply

