February 4 Heartfelt Joy and Praise

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

Exodus 19:16-21:21;  Matthew 23:13-39;  Psalm 28:1-0;  Proverbs 7:1-5

“Praise be to the Lord,

for he has heard my cry for mercy.

The Lord is my strength and my shield;

my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.

My heart leaps for joy

and I will give thanks to him in song.”

Psalm 28:6-7

* * * * *

The Lord, my God, be praised,

My light, my life from heaven;

My maker, who to me

Has soul and body given;

My Father, who will shield

And keep me day by day

And makes each moment yield

New blessings on my way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

* * * * *

The Lord, my God, be praised,

My trust, my life from heaven,

The Father’s own dear Son,

Whose life for me was given.

Who for my sin atoned

With his most precious blood

And gives to me by faith

The highest heav’nly good.

* * * * *

The Lord, my God, be praised,

My hope, my light from heaven,

The Spirit, whom the Son

In love to me has given.

His grace revives my heart

And gives my spirit pow’r,

Help, comfort, and support

In sorrow’s gloomy hour.

* * * * *

The Lord, my God, be praised,

My God, the ever living,

To whom the heav’nly host

Their laud and praise are giving.

The Lord, my God, be praised,

In whose great name I boast,

God Father, God the Son,

And God the Holy Ghost.

~Johann Olearius, 1611-84

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

* * * * *

“The Lord is the strength of his people,

a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

Save your people and bless your inheritance;

be their shepherd and carry them forever.”

Psalm 28:8-9

Lord, what else can we do when we reflect on all your goodness to us through Father, Son and Holy Spirit?  Praise flows from our lips and our hearts–sometimes.  Many times we rush through our days without pause, without taking time to worship and adore you with prayers of thanksgiving.  Forgive us Lord for our weak adoration.  It is amazing that you continue to shower us with your gifts in spite of our lack.  It is your nature to give, to love, to shepherd.  Oh, what an awesome God you are!  We humbly bow before you this day, and give you our thanks and praise to the glory of your Holy Name!  Amen.

Leave a Reply

