February 10 Throw Off The Covers!

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

Exodus 30:11-31:18;  Matthew 26:47-68;  Psalm 32:1-11;  Proverbs 8:27-32

“Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven,

whose sin is covered.

Blessed is the man against whom the Lord counts

no iniquity,

and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

For when I kept silent my bones wasted away

through my groaning all day long.

For day and night your hand was upon me;

my strength was dried up as by

the heat of summer.

I acknowledged my sin to you,

and I did not cover my iniquity;

I said I will confess my transgressions

to the Lord,

and you forgave the iniquity of my sin.”

Psalm 32:1-5

* * * * *

In light of God’s grace–

throw off the covers,

the layers of rationalizations,

self-justifications,

excuses,

and abuses of his love.

Christ died for you!

He paid the price of your

sin with his death

on the Cross.

It’s hot under all that thickness

of unconfessed sin–

can’t breathe, hardly

can’t move, easily

really can’t live.

 “If we confess our sins,

He who is faithful and just

will forgive all our sins,

and cleanse us

from ALL unrighteousness.”

1 John 1:9

Take a deep breath

and let the Spirit of God

search your heart and mind

to begin peeling

back the layers,

 to apply His healing

balm of forgivness,

to remove the load of sin

and to lead you on the path

to everlasting life–

for Jesus’ sake.

“Repent, for the Kingdom

of God is at hand.”

* * * * *

I lay my sins on Jesus,

The spotless Lamb of God;

He bears them all and frees us

From the accursed load.

I bring my guilt to Jesus

To wash my crimson stains

Clean in his blood most precious

Till not a spot remains.

~Horatius Bonar, 1808-1889

Lord God, I thank and praise you that have removed the guilt of our sin through our dear Savior’s sacrifice on the Cross.  Thank you that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.  You didn’t wait until we were worthy enough or good enough to bless us with your unconditional love and grace and forgiveness.  You are Most righteous and worthy of all our praise!  Thank you, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

