March 14 God’s Care Package

photo from iambaker.net

photo from iambaker.net

Numbers 21:1-22:20;  Luke 1:26-56;  Psalm 57:1-11;  Proverbs 11:9-11

“Have mercy on me, O God, have

mercy on me,

for in you my soul takes refuge.

I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings

until the disaster has passed.

** * * *

I cry out to God Most High,

to God, who fulfills his purpose for

me.

He sends from heaven and saves me,

rebuking those who hotly pursue me;

God sends his love and his

faithfulness.

* * * * *

My heart is steadfast, O God,

my heart is steadfast;

I will sing and make music.

Awake, my soul!

Awake harp and lyre!

I will awaken the dawn.

* * * * *

I will praise you, O Lord, among the

nations;

I will sing of you among the peoples.

For great is your love, reaching to the

heavens;

your faithfulness reaches to the

skies.

* * * * *

Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;

let you glory be over all the earth.”

Psalm 57, select verses

College students love to receive care packages from home.  The taste of home-made chocolate chip cookies reminds them of the love and thoughtfulness with which they were sent, to bolster them during intense times of study and testing, and assures them that they are not alone in their endeavors.

Like a care package from home, our gracious Heavenly Father sent His Son,Jesus, wrapped in human form but fully embodying the holiness and grace of God, to let us know that He had not forgotten His promise to our first parents–that He would send a Savior to put things right between us and Him.

God kept His promise.  Jesus came.  Jesus paid the price for our sins.  Jesus rose from the dead and now reigns in Heaven above.  He stays connected to us through His Word and the faith sustaining sacrament of Holy Communion. His love and faithfulness reaches to the skies!

Oh give thanks unto the Lord;

for He is good,

and His mercy endures forever!

Lord God, we thank and praise you for sending us your love through your Son, Jesus Christ; for making it possible, through faith, to be connected to You once again; for cleansing us from all of our sins and making us holy in your sight.  Lord, grant that we share this care package with others, that they may savor your grace and taste and see that You are good.  For Jesus’ sake we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

