May 21 At Jesus’ Feet

Photo by Cindy Ford

Photo by Cindy Ford

1 Samuel 29:1-31:13;  John 11:54-12:19;  Psalm 118:1-18;  Proverbs 15:24-26

“Six days before the Passover, Jesus therefore came to Bethany where Lazarus was, whom Jesus had raised from the dead.  So they gave him a dinner for him there.  Martha served, and Lazarus was one of those reclining with him at table.

Mary therefore took a pound of expensive ointment made from pure nard and anointed the feet of Jesus and wiped his feet with her hair.  The house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.”

John 12:1-3

* * * * *

At Jesus’ feet

her love was poured

her deep devotion spent,

What Mary valued

most of all,

to be near her Lord and God

to be near to her Lord

and God.

* * * * *

To be near to you, O Lord, in your Word, in your Body and Blood at the Lord’s Supper is priceless indeed.  The gift of your life given freely on the Cross to atone for my sins can never be repaid.  I’m in awe of your great devotion to me and to all the people of the world.  I’m in awe of your love that was truly self-less.  Lord, this day may I live in faithful devotion to you and to show my love for you by serving and loving those around me.  I pray that my home may be filled with the fragrance of pure devotion to you.  For Jesus’ name sake I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

