May 26 Snip Away, Lord!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo by Laura Jostes

2 Samuel 9:1-11:27;  John 15:1-27;  Psalm 119:49-64;  Proverbs 16:1-3

“I am the true vine and my Father is the vinedresser.  Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit.

Abide in me, and I in you.  As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.

I am the vine, you are the branches.  Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

John 15:1-5

* * * * *

So much exuberance!

So much growth

that takes place in Spring!

So much potential for endless blooms

forever fruit.

Greening plants sprawl

about the garden

untamed, reaching, striving

for more sunlight,

more earth to spread its roots

to claim as its own.

But, spread too thin,

too quickly, too far

plants lose their ability

to nourish,

to supply their

wandering branches

with enough nutrients

to sustain,

to produce.

The wise gardener knows this,

ignores the bursts of celebration

and gently,

calmly,

deliberately

steps into the garden

to tame the party,

to snip back into order

and guide the pulsing,

dancing plants

into productivity.

* * * * *

O Lord, may you do the same

with me.

Direct my energies, desires

and creative wanderings

back to you.

Use me as you will

to serve your purposes,

to bear witness to your

great mercy and love

in my life,

so that I may bear the Fruit of the Spirit’s

Life in me:

Love, joy, peace

patience, goodness, faithfulness,

gentleness and self-control.

May this fruit be abundantly evident

to the glory of your holy name!

In Jesus’ name I pray,

Amen.

* * * * *

“The plans of the heart belong to man but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.

All the ways of man are pure in his own eyes,

but the Lord weighs the heat.

Commit your work to the Lord,

and your plans will be established.”

Proverbs 16:1-3

5 thoughts on “May 26 Snip Away, Lord!

Leave a Reply

