One Thing I Know

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

“So for the second time they [the Pharisees] called the man who had been blind and said, “Give glory to God.  We know this man [Jesus] is a sinner.”

He answered, “Whether or not he is a sinner, I do not know.  One thing I know, that though I was blind, now I see.”

* * * * *

Jesus heard that they had cast him out, and having found him he said, “Do you believe in the Son of Man?”

He answered, “And who is he, sir, that I may believe in him?”  Jesus said to him, “You have seen him, and it is he speaking to you.”  He said, “Lord I believe,” and he worshiped him.”  John 9: 24-25, 35-39

* * * * *

One thing I know…

that I was born spiritually blind

but

through the Water and the Word

of Baptism

even as an infant

the gift of sight,

of faith in Jesus

was given to me.

Jesus touched me,

turned me to Him,

made me His own.

He preserves me

in this faith as

day by day,

year by year

He walks with me

nurtures me

feeds me His holy food.

He removes the guilt of my sin

and His light shines in my heart.

His joy floods my soul.

* * * * *

Thank you Jesus

for opening my eyes

to see You and the love and forgiveness

that comes from Your Hands.

May I live today as one who sees

and points others to You

in word and deed.

In Your name I pray,

praise,

and give thanks!

Amen.

* * * * *

It was grace in Christ that called me,

Taught my darkened heart and mind;

Else the world had yet enthralled me,

To Thy heav’nly glories blind.

Now I worship none above Thee;

For thy grace alone I thirst,

Knowing well that, if I love Thee,

Thou, O Lord, didst love me first.

(LSB 573:2)

Leave a Reply

