God Hears Our Cries

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

The curse of sin

followed me in

the day

I entered this world.

This common condition,

Adam’s addition,

to God’s most perfect

realm

gave birth

to a promise

kept by my Savior

who broke my bonds of sin.

Baptismal waters

covered me

God’s Word did

all the rest

Made me an heir

a child of Grace

Opened

the Gates of Heaven.

I am blessed!

* * * * *

“Jabez was more honorable

than his brothers.

His mother named him Jabez,

saying,

“I gave birth to him

in pain.”

Jabez cried out

to the God of Israel,

“Oh, that you would bless me

and enlarge my territory!

Let your hand be with me,

and keep me from harm

so that I will be free from pain.”

And God granted his request.”

1 Chronicles 4:9-10

* * * * *

Lord God, we were born into the pain of sin and it would have followed us all the days of our lives had you not stepped in to break its power.  You provided Your
Son, our Savior, who keeps us from all harm and danger.  Through the gift of faith we believe that eternal pain no longer awaits us at the time of judgement.  The blood of Your Son covers over all our unrighteousness.  For that we give you great thanks and praise!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

