Spirit Built

Image by Chad Graham

Image by Chad Graham

Lots of kingdom building took place in Israel under King David.  David looked around him in wonder at all God had done through him.  He lived in a palace of cedar, yet God still only had a tent as His dwelling.  David longed to change that but God had other plans.  Through the prophet Nathan God unveiled His blueprint for His heavenly house which includes you and me and all who believe:

“I declare to you that the Lord will build a house for you:  when your days are over and you go to be with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, one of your own sons, and I will establish your kingdom.  He is the one who will build a house for me, and I will establish his throne forever.  I will be his father, and he will be my son.  I will never take my love away from him, as I took it away from your predecessor.  I will set him over my house and my kingdom forever; his throne will be established forever.”

1 Chronicles 17:10-14

* * * * *

Jesus,

Son of David,

Son of God

is that son of prophet’s

voice.

And we who believe

make up His house

living stone by

living stone

established in Him

forever!

* * * * *

“As you come to him, the living stone…

you also, like living stones, are being built into

a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood

offering spiritual sacrifices

acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.

But you are a chosen people,

a royal priesthood,

a holy nation,

a people belonging to God,

that you may declare the praise

of Him who called you

out of darkness

into His wonderful light.”

1 Peter 2:4-5,9

Lord God, like King David we sometimes have plans to do something great for you.  Through your Word you gently remind us that You have Your own plans for us.  Lord, open our hearts and minds to see and do the work you have planned for us.  In our everyday lives help us to be found faithful to you and that you find praise on our lips.  In your great mercy you have called us to be a part of your spiritual house.  Thank you!  May we do our part–to the glory of your holy name.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

