Come Out!

Photo by Justin Knight

Photo by Justin Knight

Under the bed

dust bunnies and all

next to my brother, Christ,

Our Father calls

‘Dearest ones, come out!

The sin that drove you

to hide away

has been carried away by Him.

I don’t see the dirt

I don’t smell the stench

I don’t feel the grit

of your gossip, greed or lust.

I see my daughter next to My Son

clean from head to toe.

I see my seal,

the Spirit-Guarantee

marked upon your breast

when faith entered in

through Water and the Word

and your life in me began.’

  * * * * *

“So then, brothers, we are debtors, not to the flesh to live according to the flesh.  For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body you will live.  For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.  For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!”

The Spirit himself bears witness with our Spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs–heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.”

Romans 8:12-17

Thank You Abba Father for the wonder of Baptism when I was adopted as Your very own.  You gave me the gift of faith through the Water and the Word.  Thank You for Your love, for daily providing me with all that I need to live, for keeping me safe from harm and danger, for seeing the right-ness of Your dear Son, Jesus, in me.  Abba Father may I live for You today in love and gratitude and be found faithful as Your beloved child.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

