“Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the devil.”  Ephesians 4:26-27

What makes me angry?  When I see people treating each other badly; when I hear them speaking negatively and even slandering those whom we should be showing respect.  Anger in others makes me angry.

Anger is an emotion and in and of itself is not bad.  It’s what we do or do not do when we feel this emotion that is harmful to both ourselves and to others.

So let’s back up….

When the feeling of anger swells in our hearts and minds what do we do?

Seek the truth.    Ask, “what is the truth in this situation that is causing me to feel so angry?”  Am I expecting something unrealistic?  Am I demanding that things go MY way?

Sometimes we may not even truly understand the cause of our anger.

Here’s where a prayer to God who knows our hearts and minds can be mighty effective:

“Lord, I’m feeling put upon, neglected, hurt, embarrassed, and confused and that makes me feel angry and helpless.  Lord, You are in control.  Please help me.  If my anger is a result of my own sinfulness, please forgive me.  If my anger is because I feel helpless to change a situation, please intervene, give me wisdom, just don’t let me say or do anything that will make things worse.  Especially, Lord, protect me from the evil one who would love to take my insecurity and negative feelings and run with them (and me)–far away from You.  Lord, You are the Truth.  May I trust in You and not in my feelings.  Thank You Lord for hearing my prayer.  To You be the glory now and forever, Amen!

One thought on “

  1. As I read your recent post, I found it t addressed a situation that I am in now. The words and prayer encouraged me as I read it. Thank you

Leave a Reply

