Hope For Even Me

Judges 2:10-3:31; Luke 22:14-34; Psalm 92:1-93:5; Proverbs 14:1-2

Meeting in the Upper Room to celebrate Passover with their teacher, the disciples were giddy with anticipation. They were in the Big City–Jerusalem. Their teacher entered it to the accolades of the crowds who waved palm branches and shouted “Hosanna!” People were talking about their Rabbi!

Jesus eagerly awaited this moment, too, as He gathered with His beloved students. He had something special to share with them, something special to do for them “before I suffer.” That word, “suffer” bounced right off their consciousness–not a surprise to Jesus.

That evening the Passover ritual took a turn when Jesus, raising a cup of wine and giving thanks, said, “Take this, and divide it among yourselves. For I tell you that from now on I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.” The disciples drank. Jesus said it was His blood poured out for them–“a new covenant in my blood.”

Jesus then took the bread, gave thanks and gave the broken bread to them saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” The disciples ate.

Bread and wine. Body and blood. And then–talk of betrayal. Another turn in the Passover celebration. Questions flew across the table “Is it I Lord?” Their inquiries turned into a quarrel amongst them about which of them would be considered the greatest—their eyes on glory, not on their LORD.

Ever patient, Jesus, schooled the disciples about “greatness” and taught them that to be great one must become as the youngest, “like a child”–one who receives care, not one who wields authority. They would learn, eventually.

To make His point even clearer that it’s not power and might, but humbleness and servant- hood that characterizes His Kingdom, Jesus said, “But I am among you as the one who serves.” He washed their dusty feet.

Knowing their misplaced thoughts–perhaps Simon Peter’s in particular–Jesus addressed him, “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan demanded to have you, that he might sift you like wheat.” Picture sifting wheat as a beating…wooden rods striking the wheat stalks over and over again until the straw lets go of the wheat kernel, the inedible parts left to blow away. Simon, familiar with agrarian practices, may have sensed something ominous in Jesus’s words directed to him.

Then, Jesus told Simon that He has prayed for him; prayed that his faith would not fail, that He has a job for him–that when he “has turned again, strengthen your brothers.” They, too, will have wrestled with fear and doubt as they abandoned Jesus to His captors. Their faith shaken.

Peter’s proclamation of loyalty to his Rabbi–to follow him even if it led to prison or death–was the beginning of Peter’s trial that would shake his faith to its core by night’s end–his confidence destroyed, his sin exposed–when the cock gave his morning call.

LORD Jesus, I too, like the disciples, have taken my eyes off of You. The world’s enticements and promises of the “good life” have led me to deny you as the Source of all goodness and life. Forgive me for turning away from you, for my wayward devotion to earthly things. Thank You for not abandoning me or giving up on me. Thank for praying to the Father that the gift of faith be not wasted on me. Thank You for serving me with your very life that You gave willingly in my place on the Cross. Thank you for Your great love and tender mercies that I receive each time I eat the Bread and drink the Wine–Your very Body and Blood–given for me for the forgiveness of all my sin. To You be all glory and honor and praise! In Your name I pray, Amen.

Leave a comment