August 30 Gorilla Glue

Image

Job 34:1-36:33:  2 Corinthians 4:1-12;  Psalm 44:1-8;  Proverbs 22:10-12

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.  We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed;  perplexed, but not driven to despair;  persecuted, but not forsaken;  struck down, but not destroyed.”  2 Corinthians 4:7-9

Gorilla glue is great!  Tight bond.  Incredible strength.  It makes broken things like new, able to function.  To last.

In and of ourselves, our weak human bodies (yes, weak in spite of hours of weight training and exercise!) are vulnerable to the stresses of daily living.  Even more so when we are under pressure or physically attacked or abused.

We at times find ourselves at a “breaking point”–maybe due to circumstances of our own making. Maybe not.

As believers, though, God’s Spirit within us holds us together–like gorilla glue.  Our spirit remains intact and bears witness to God’s power and strength.

After a period of suffering one may be asked, “How did you do it?  Survive?” 

Answer:  God’s gorilla glue of the gospel–the life of Jesus in me through faith!

Lord God,  thank you for Christ’s broken body on the Cross and for your power which raised Him from the dead.  In times of despair, affliction, perplexity and persecution, we have the assurance that you are with us.  You hold us together.  You keep us from destruction.  May people come to know of Your surpassing love, mercy and grace through us.  May we share the source of our perseverance, purpose, and strength found only in You.  In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

You are my strength when I am weak
You are the treasure that I seek
You are my all in all
I’m seeking You like a precious jewel
Lord, to give up I’d be a fool
You are my all in all

Jesus, Lamb of God
Holy is Your name
Jesus, Lamb of God
Holy is Your name

Taking my cross my sin my shame
Raising again I praise Your name
You are my all in all
When I fall down You pick me up
When I run dry You fill my cup
You are my all in all

Jesus, Lamb of God
Holy is Your name
Jesus, Lamb of God
Holy is Your name.

(lyrics by Dennis Jernigan)

4 thoughts on “August 30 Gorilla Glue

    • You’re welcome, Wendy. It’s a dangerous thing when we think we can depend on ourselves. Ever get superglued to yourself? Not fun! 🙂
      Blessings back ~ Laura

Leave a Reply

